Image 12 of 493
< Prev Next >
The 1982 National Champion Women's Tennis Team receives their medals. The 1982 women’s tennis team won the first NCAA Division III championship in the sport, defeating UC San Diego in Jackson, Miss., in May 1982. Coached by Lynn (Pacala) Mehl, the 11-member squad was led by Jean-Marie Sanders ’84, Sue Rene ’82, Kathleen McFadden ’82, and Maria Newton ’85.<br />
The Occidental community celebrates its student-athletes with the induction of the sixth class into the Occidental College Athletics Hall of Fame during Homecoming and Family Weekend on Friday, Oct. 13, 2017 in Jack Kemp Stadium. The 2017 inductees are Stephen Haas ’63 (track and field), the 1982 women’s tennis team (NCAA national champions), Blair Slattery ’94 (basketball and tennis), and the late Andy Collins ’07 (football, track and field).<br />
(Photo by Marc Campos, Occidental College Photographer)